

November 11, 2020

The Honorable James Inhofe Chairman Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Mac Thornberry Chairman House Armed Services Committee 2310 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510 The Honorable Jack Reed Ranking Member Senate Armed Services Committee 228 Russell Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

The Honorable Adam Smith Ranking Member House Armed Services Committee 2310 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

## Dear Chairmen and Ranking Members:

We write in support of House Section 1043 which would require the Air Force maintain a Total Aircraft Inventory (TAI) of 292 C-130 aircraft in the final Fiscal Year 2021 National Defense Authorization Act. As Senators from states that have Air National Guard (ANG) C-130 wings, we are deeply concerned by the effects a lower minimum number of C-130s would have.

Our Air National Guard C-130 flying wings provide nearly half of the Air Force's tactical airlift capability. For more than 50 years, we have brought Americans into combat, provided humanitarian relief around the globe, and supported domestic response throughout the nation. As the Air Force proposes changes to align our force structure with the National Defense Strategy (NDS), it is vitally important we do not trade experience and knowhow in pursuit of expensive, less defined capabilities.

The Senate's proposed language takes the approach of setting a minimum number of C-130 aircraft in the fleet by adopting a Primary Mission Aircraft Inventory (PMAI) of 230 aircraft. Unlike the House approach, mandating PMAI alone does not account for training aircraft inventory requirements or backup aircraft needed to support maintenance inspection and depot requirements. This disconnect could hamper the ANG's readiness and training capabilities due to a potential lack of training assets and extended maintenance downtime. The House's proposed TAI of 292 C-130s sets an aircraft minimum that accounts for all aircraft, including the training and maintenance needs of the C-130 fleet. In fact, the 2018 Mobility Capabilities and Requirements Study recommended a TAI of 300 C-130s to support combatant commanders' wartime mobility requirements.

Further, House Section 1043 is supported by 14 governors from states whose ANGs have C-130 flying missions. As these governors highlighted in a recent letter to your committees, Section 1043 would ensure that their ANG wings can continue to support the nation's essential worldwide and domestic contingencies. As such, the 292 C-130 TAI would allow the ANG to

support the NDS without inhibiting the Guard's unique domestic missions responding to natural disasters and other emergencies.

The ANG C-130 fleet has been the backbone of our tactical airlift capability for a generation. Our ANG wings have built experience and expertise through repeated deployments and domestic operations. Hard choices will be required as we restructure the Air Force to face future foreign and domestic challenges. Therefore, we must make informed, data driven, decisions as we manage the C-130 fleet. For these reasons, we strongly urge you to incorporate House Section 1043 supporting a TAI of 292 C-130 Aircraft in the final Fiscal Year 2021 National Defense Authorization Act.

Sincerely,

The Salt	John Barrasso
Tina Smith	John Barrasso, M.D.
United States Senator	United States Senator
AngKlobuhan	Michael B. Engi
Amy Klobuchar	Michael B. Enzi
United States Senator	United States Senator
for test	Stève Dains
Jon Tester	Steve Daines
United States Senator	United States Senator
Just Mauchine	Shelley Mone Capito
Joe Manchin III	Shelley Moore Capito
United States Senator	United States Senator

Thomas R. Carper

United States Senator

him Coom

Christopher A. Coons

United States Senator



Sherrod Brown United States Senator

fiched Blomes Ref

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Kirsten Gillibrand United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Kelly Loeffler United States Senator /S/

Rob Portman

United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Dianne Feinstein United States Senator

Tammy Duckforth
United State Senator